Trump-Putin alliance sparks diplomatic crisis as British ministers demand assurances from US over Russia

Putin on Trump:

  • “He is a very flamboyant man, very talented, no doubt about that… He is an absolute leader of the presidential race, as we see it today. He says that he wants to move to another level of relations, to a deeper level of relations with Russia. How can we not welcome that? Of course we welcome it.” – December 2015

Trump on Putin:

  • “It is always a great honour to be so nicely complimented by a man so highly respected within his own country and beyond.” – December 2015
  • “I think I would just get along very well with Putin. I just think so. People say what do you mean? I just think we would.” – July 2015
  • “I have no relationship with [Putin] other than he called me a genius. He said Donald Trump is a genius and he is going to be the leader of the party and he’s going to be the leader of the world or something. He said some good stuff about me… I think I’d have a good relationship with Putin, who knows.” – February 2016
  • “I have nothing to do with Putin, I have never spoken to him, I don’t know anything about him, other than he will respect me.” – July 2016
  • “I would treat Vladimir Putin firmly, but there’s nothing I can think of that I’d rather do than have Russia friendly as opposed to how they are right now so that we can go and knock out Isis together with other people. Wouldn’t it be nice if we actually got along?” – July 2016
  • “The man has very strong control over a country. It’s a very different system and I don’t happen to like the system, but certainly, in that system, he’s been a leader.” – September 2016
  • “Well I think when [Putin] called me brilliant, I’ll take the compliment, okay?” – September 2016
Leave a Reply

